topamax 50 mg side effects

 

Protecting against internet security risks


Day to day internet use does not only revolve around social networking, e-commerce or web surfing. From time to time it is desirable to share data with others, download content from the web or subscribe to services which send files to your computer. It is important to understand what the implications of these activities are and how best to protect yourself against unwanted computer access while downloading and sharing computer data.

  • Firewalls

    Firewalls can block all traffic between the internet and a computer that is not explicitly allowed, preventing unauthorised access to data. A firewall provides protection from viruses, spyware, spam as well as protecting personal identifying information and personal data stored on a computer.

    Having a firewall permanently turned is the first line of defence against viruses, spyware and hackers.

    Most operating systems provide a firewall as part of a basic security set-up. Commercially available security software such as anti-virus and anti-virus software programs may also include a personal firewall option.

  • Safer file sharing

    File sharing is the sharing of digital information like computer programs, audio or video files, documents or electronic books with others across the internet. The most commonly shared files are pirated music, movies and computer software. Most file sharing is conducted over the internet using peer-to-peer (P2P) networks.

    P2P is an application that runs on a personal computer and shares files, such as music files, with other users across the internet. P2P networks work by connecting individual computers together directly to share files instead of having to go through a central server. P2P networking is popular with children as the software is usually free, easy to install and gives access to many files that would otherwise be too difficult or too expensive to obtain. Some file-sharing software enables people to chat online while they share.

    File sharing can be safe if legal services and appropriate e-security measures are used.

    P2P file sharing enables users some access to each other’s systems. The level of access will vary depending on the user’s knowledge of and use of appropriate security settings. Less savvy users may be providing access to all aspects of their computer system, not just the music or movie files they are sharing.

    Some files in P2P networks have misleading labels to hide the true nature of the content. This means that children might download something that appears innocent, only to find it is inappropriate for them. P2P networks may also be used to distribute child sexual abuse materials or to attempt to make contact with children. Parents should be especially wary of software that enables children to chat with other people sharing files.

  • Safer download of files, music and videos

    Downloading is the process of saving a file from the internet onto a computer. The most common way to download is to click on a link that will begin the download automatically. A dialogue box will appear prompting the user to choose a computer location to ‘Save’ the file. Selecting Save will begin the process.

    Downloading is an increasingly popular activity on the internet and for many people, downloading music and video is the main attraction of using the web. Many students download documents such as fact sheets for school assignments as well as music and movies.

    Download of files, music and videos does not have to be illegal. There are many legal sources offering music, movies and other information for download. Some are free while others have a fee per service or an ongoing subscription fee.

    One issue to consider may be potential download limits within your internet contract. It is important before downloading to check your internet download limit, current download level and how much any excess charges will be. Many illegal download websites also carry the risk of viruses. Ask friends or family about reliable and legal websites for downloading.

    The following practical tips will help parents manage the risks of downloading.

    Young Children

    Downloading is unlikely to be an issue for younger children who may not have the opportunity, or knowledge to download media like music or videos. If children are online the following general tips are a good starting point to help them be safe and responsible. It is useful to consider the following tips.

    1. Consider using filters, labels and safe zones to help manage your child’s online access.
    2. Install and update anti-virus and other e-security software to restrict unauthorised access to data on the home computer and protect that data from corruption.
    3. Ensure that security features including a firewall are turned on, set to automatic scan and updated regularly to protect against the latest risks.

    Older Children

    Downloading can start to be a risk for older children who are interested in downloading media files such as music, TV shows, movies and ring tones. The following tips can be used to help you to guide your child.

    1. Talk with your child about the potential risks of using unsafe websites to download and share files, including the risk of infecting the home computer with viruses, the potential costs and the legalities of breaching copyright.
    2. If you want to teach your child about downloading use a reliable and legal media download sites, these should be clear from the terms and conditions or can be found through web searches or other sources of authority.
    3. If you are unsure about other safe or legal websites to use ask around—word of mouth from friends and family is a good way to identify reliable download sources.
    4. If you are comfortable with your child using download sites that charge for use you might consider visiting your preferred websites with them and checking the fees. It may be useful to establish rules requiring your child to seek your permission before they download files, to prevent unexpected costs. Establishing a weekly family budget for media downloads can help.
    5. If your child uses a download site that charges fees check that the website has secure online payment facilities. Look for an https:// in the address field and a locked padlock symbol at the bottom of the screen. The https:// and padlock indicate that financial data is being encrypted and protected from unauthorised access.
    6. Talk to your child about the download limit of your internet contract. What is the limit and what is the cost if it is exceeded? What sort of usage occurs with each download, and how you can check current usage with your child?
    7. Consider using filters, labels and safe zones to help manage your child’s online access.
    8. Install and update anti-virus and other e-security software to restrict unauthorised access to data on the home computer and protect that data from corruption. Ensure that security features including a firewall are turned on, set to automatic scan and updated regularly to protect against the latest risks.

    Teenagers

    Downloading is popular with teens that may download media files such as music, TV shows, movies and ringtones. The following tips can help guide your teen to download safely.

    1. Talk with your teen about the potential risks of using unsafe websites to download and share files, including the risk of infecting the home computer with viruses, the potential costs and the legalities of breaching copyright.
    2. If you want to teach your teen about downloading reliable and legal media download sites, these should be clear from the terms and conditions or can be found through web searches or other sources of authority.
    3. If you are unsure about other safe or legal websites to use ask around—word of mouth from friends and family is a good way to identify reliable download sources.
    4. If you are comfortable with your child using download sites that charge for use you might consider visiting your preferred websites with them and checking the fees. It may be useful to establish rules requiring your child to seek your permission before they download files, to prevent unexpected costs. Establishing a weekly family budget for media downloads can help.
    5. If your child uses a download site that charges fees check that the website has secure online payment facilities. Look for an https:// in the address field and a locked padlock symbol at the bottom of the screen. The https:// and padlock indicate that financial data is being encrypted and protected from unauthorised access.
    6. Talk to your child about the download limit of your internet contract. What is the limit and what is the cost if it is exceeded? What sort of usage occurs with each download, and how you can check current usage with your child?
    7. Consider using filters, labels and safe zones to help manage your child’s online access.
    8. Install and update anti-virus and other e-security software to restrict unauthorised access to data on the home computer and protect that data from corruption. Ensure that security features including a firewall are turned on set to automatic scan an updated regularly to protect against the latest risks.
  • Securing a wireless network

    Wireless networks in the office or at home enable users to share files, printers and internet access between all their computers without cables.

    Wireless networking is very useful, but if not password protected, your wireless network may be accessed by others—even people who live next door or across the street. This could lead to you exceeding your download limit without knowing why. It can also enable others to access your personal information.

    There are countless public computers offering internet access including computers in libraries, airports and internet cafes. Because these computers are accessible to many people, taking extra precautions to protect personal information and protect against possible virus infection is important.

    Remembering not to leave a public computer unattended until fully logging out and not saving any files or any log-in information will help you to be safe when using public computers. Where a website has an automatic log-in checkbox, it’s a good idea to uncheck it. This helps to prevent others logging in with your identity later. When you’ve finished, clear the history, quit the browser, log out and, if possible, reboot the computer.

    If using a public wireless network try to avoid online banking or credit card transactions, and ensure that security software, such as anti-virus and anti-spyware software and a firewall, are installed on the laptop.

Safer Internet Day

Safer Internet Day is a day to celebrate how children and adults can learn from each other when they meet online in social media networks and systems...Read more

It's your life & you're in Control

What you do online affects your whole world, it’s your life and you’re in control, Find out about how you can protect yourself and stay safe. Read more

Educational Partners

topamax 50 mg side effects

 

الحماية ضد المخاطر الأمنية للإنترنت


يوما بعد يوم لا تدور إستخدامات الإنترنت فقط حول الشبكات الاجتماعية، والتجارة الإلكترونية أو تصفح الإنترنت، بل أنه من وقت لآخر نجد أنه من المستحسن تبادل البيانات مع الآخرين، وتحميل محتوى من شبكة الإنترنت أو الاشتراك في الخدمات التي ترسل الملفات إلى جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك. من المهم أن نفهم ما هى الآثار المترتبة على هذه الأنشطة وأفضل الطرق لحماية نفسك ضد الوصول غير المرغوب لجهاز الكمبيوتر أثناء تنزيل وتبادل بيانات الكمبيوتر.

  • الجدران النارية (Firewalls)

    يمكن للجدار الناري منع كل حركة المرور بين شبكة الانترنت وجهاز كمبيوتر غير مسموح صراحة بدخوله، ومنع الدخول غير المصرح به إلى البيانات. يوفر الجدار الناري الحماية من الفيروسات وبرامج التجسس، والبريد المزعج ، إضافة إلى حماية المعلومات والبيانات الشخصية المخزنة على جهاز الكمبيوتر.

    وجود جدار الحماية المتحول بشكل دائم هو خط الدفاع الأول ضد الفيروسات وبرامج التجسس والمتسللين.

    توفر معظم انظمة التشغيل جدار حماية كجزء من انشاء الأمن الأساسي. قد تتوفر تجاريا البرمجيات الأمنية مثل مكافحة الفيروسات والبرامج المضادة للفيروسات قد تشمل أيضا خيارا من خيارات جدار الحماية الشخصية.

  • تبادل الملفات الأكثر أمانا

    تبادل الملفات هو تبادل المعلومات الرقمية مثل برامج الكمبيوتر، الملفات الصوتية أو الفيديو أو الوثائق أو الكتب الإلكترونية مع الآخرين عبر الإنترنت. أكثر الملفات المشتركة والمقرصنة عادة الموسيقى والأفلام وبرامج الكمبيوتر. ويجري تبادل الملفات عبر الإنترنت باستخدام الشبكات بين الند للند (P2P).

    الند للند (P2P) هى تطبيقات برامجية تعمل على أجهزة الكمبيوتر الشخصية فى تبادل الملفات، مثل ملفات الموسيقى، مع مستخدمين آخرين عبر الإنترنت. تعمل شبكات الند للند P2P من خلال ربط أجهزة الكمبيوتر الفردية معا لمشاركة الملفات مباشرة بدلا من الاضطرار إلى اللجوء إلى جهاز خادم مركزي. شبكة الند للندP2P شعبية ومعروفة للأطفال نظرا لمجانية البرنامج عادة، وسهولة تركيبه ويتيح الوصول إلى العديد من الملفات التي من شأنها أن يكون الحصول عليها من الصعب جدا أو مكلفا للغاية. بعض البرامج وتبادل الملفات تمكن الناس من الدردشه على الانترنت خلال مشاركتهم.

    يمكن أن تكون مشاركة الملفات آمنة إذا تم استخدام الخدمات القانونية وتدابير الأمن الإلكتروني المناسبة.

    يتيح تبادل ملفات الند للند P2P للمستخدمين الوصول إلى أنظمة بعضهم البعض. ويختلف مستوى الوصول وفقا لعلم المستخدم من استخدام وإعدادات الأمان المناسبة. يمكن للمستخدمين الأقل معرفة الوصول إلى جميع جوانب نظام أجهزة الكمبيوتر الخاصة بهم، وليس فقط ملفات الموسيقى أو الفيلم التى يتشاركونها أصلا.

    لبعض الملفات في شبكات الند للند P2P مسميات مختلفة لإخفاء وتضليل الطبيعة الحقيقية للمحتوى. يعني هذا أن الأطفال قد يحملوا شيء يظهرهم أبرياء، فقط لتجد أنه من غير المناسب بالنسبة لهم. ويمكن أيضا استخدام شبكات الند للند P2P لتوزيع مواد الاعتداء الجنسي على الأطفال أو محاولة السعى لاجراء اتصالات مع الأطفال. يجب على الآباء أن يكونوا حذرين خاصة من البرمجيات التي تمكن الأطفال من الدردشة مع أشخاص آخرين خلال تبادل الملفات.

  • التحميل الأكثر أمانا للملفات والموسيقى والفيديو

    التحميل هو عملية حفظ ملف من الإنترنت على جهاز الكمبيوتر. الطريقة الأكثر شيوعا للتحميل هى الضغط على الرابط الذى يبدأ عملية التحميل تلقائيا. سوف يظهر مربع حوار يُظهر مطالبة المستخدم لاختيار موقع الكمبيوتر إلى “حفظ” الملف، وباختيار الحفظ تبدأ العملية.

    التحميل هو النشاط الأكثر شيوعا والمتزايد على شبكة الانترنت لكثير من الناس ، وتحميل الموسيقى والفيديو هي نقطة الجذب الرئيسية لاستخدام شبكة الإنترنت. يقوم العديد من الطلاب بتحميل وثائق مثل صحائف الواجبات المدرسية وكذلك الموسيقى والأفلام.

    ليس من الضروري أن يكون تحميل الملفات والموسيقى والفيديو غير قانوني. هناك العديد من المصادر القانونية التي تقدم الموسيقى والأفلام وغيرها من المعلومات للتحميل. بعضها خدمات مجانية في حين أن للبعض الآخر رسوم لكل خدمة أو رسوم الاشتراك المستمر.

    من القضايا الهامة التى يتحتم على المرء معرفتها قضية حدود التحميل المحتملة بعقد الإنترنت الخاص بك. من المهم قبل التحميل التحقق من حد تحميل الانترنت الخاص بك ، وما هو مستوى التحميل الحالي وما هى تكلفة التحميل الإضافى أي كم ستكون الرسوم الإضافية. التحميل فى العديد من المواقع غير القانونية يحمل أيضا خطر الفيروسات. يمكنك أن تسأل الأصدقاء أو العائلة عن المواقع الموثوقة والقانونية للتحميل.

    تساعد النصائح التالية الوالدين على إدارة مخاطر عملية التحميل.

    الأطفال الصغار

    من غير المرجح أن يمثل التحميل مشكلة للأطفال الأصغر سنا الذين قد لا تتاح لهم الفرصة، أو المعرفة لتحميل وسائل الاعلام مثل الموسيقى أو الفيديو. إذا كان الأطفال على الانترنت تمثل النصائح العامة التالية نقطة انطلاق جيدة لمساعدتهم على أن يكونوا فى وضع آمن ويمكنهم تحمل المسؤولية. لذا فإنه من المفيد النظر في النصائح التالية.

    1. فكر في استخدام الفلاتر، والعلامات والمناطق الآمنة للمساعدة في إدارة أساليب وصول طفلك ودخوله على الانترنت.
    2. تثبيت وتحديث برامج مكافحة الفيروسات وغيرها من برامج الأمن الإلكتروني لمنع الوصول غير المصرح به إلى البيانات الموجودة على الكمبيوتر المنزلي وحماية تلك البيانات من الفساد.
    3. تأكد من تشغيل ميزات الأمان بما في ذلك جدار الحماية على المسح التلقائي وأنه قد تم تحديثها بانتظام لحمايتها ضد أحدث المخاطر.

    الأطفال الكبار

    يمكن أن يمثل التحميل خطورة للأطفال الأكبر سنا الذين يرغبون في تنزيل ملفات الوسائط مثل الموسيقى والبرامج التلفزيونية والأفلام ونغمات الرنين. النصائح التالية تساعدتك على توجيه طفلك.

    1. تحدث مع طفلك عن الأخطار المحتملة لاستخدام مواقع غير آمنة لتحميل ومشاركة الملفات، بما في ذلك التعرض لخطر اصابة جهاز الكمبيوتر في المنزل بالفيروسات، والتكاليف المحتملة والجوانب القانونية لخرق حقوق النشر.
    2. إذا كنت تريد تعليم طفلك تحميل الوسائط الإعلامية قم باستخدام المواقع الموثوق بها والقانونية ، والتى تكون واضحة من شروطها وأحكامها أو يمكن العثور عليها من خلال البحث على شبكة الإنترنت أو غيرها من المصادر.
    3. إذا كنت لست متأكدا من مواقع أخرى آمنة أو قانونية يمكنك طلب ذلك من الأهل والأصدقاء ويمثل ذلك وسيلة جيدة للتعرف على مصادر تحميل موثوق بها.
    4. إذا كنت مرتاحا مع طفلك لاستخدامه مواقع تضع رسوما مقابل الدخول إليها ، فإنك ربما تفكروتنظر في زيارة المواقع المفضلة لديك معهم والتحقق من الرسوم. وقد يكون من المفيد وضع قواعد تطلب من طفلك الحصول على إذنك قبل تنزيل الملفات، لمنع إضافة تكاليف غير متوقعة. وضع ميزانية الأسرة الأسبوعية لتنزيل الوسائط المساعدة قد يُساعد كثيرا.
    5. إذا كان طفلك يستخدم موقع التحميل الذي يفرض الرسوم تأكد من أن للموقع تسهيلات دفع آمنة عبر الإنترنت. ابحث عن https:// في حقل العنوان ورمز القفل المغلق في أسفل الشاشة. وتشير https:// ورمز القفل إلى أن البيانات المالية مشفرة ومحمية من الوصول إليها بصورة غيرمصرح بها.
    6. تحدث إلى طفلك عن حد التحميل بعقد الإنترنت الخاص بك. ما هو الحد وما هي التكلفة إذا تم تجاوز ذلك؟ أي نوع من الاستخدام يحدث مع كل تحميل، وكيف يمكنك التحقق من الاستخدام الحالي مع طفلك؟
    7. فكر في استخدام الفلاتر، والعلامات والمناطق الآمنة للمساعدة في إدارة وصول ودخول طفلك على الانترنت.
    8. قم بتثبيت وتحديث برامج مكافحة الفيروسات وغيرها من برامج الأمن الإلكتروني لمنع الوصول غير المصرح به إلى البيانات الموجودة على الكمبيوتر المنزلي وحماية تلك البيانات من الفساد. تأكد من تشغيل ميزات الأمان بما في ذلك جدار الحماية على المسح التلقائي وأنه قد تم تحديثها بانتظام لحمايتها ضد أحدث المخاطر.

    المراهقين

    التحميل من الممارسات المحببة وسط المراهقين الذين يقومون بتحميل ملفات الوسائط الإعلامية مثل الموسيقى والبرامج التلفزيونية والأفلام والنغمات. النصائح التالية يمكن أن تساعد في توجيه إبنك المراهق للتحميل بأمان.

    1. تحدث مع ابنك المراهق حول المخاطر المحتملة لاستخدام مواقع غير آمنة لتحميل ومشاركة الملفات، بما في ذلك التعرض لخطر اصابة جهاز الكمبيوتر في المنزل مع الفيروسات، والتكاليف المحتملة والجوانب القانونية لخرق حقوق النشر.
    2. إذا كنت تريد تعليم طفلك تحميل الوسائط الإعلامية قم باستخدام المواقع الموثوق بها والقانونية ، والتى تكون واضحة من شروطها وأحكامها أو يمكن العثور عليها من خلال البحث على شبكة الإنترنت أو غيرها من المصادر.
    3. إذا كنت لست متأكدا من مواقع أخرى آمنة أو قانونية يمكنك طلب ذلك من الأهل والأصدقاء ويمثل ذلك وسيلة جيدة للتعرف على مصادر تحميل موثوق بها.
    4. إذا كنت مرتاحا مع طفلك باستخدام مواقع التحميل هذا الاتهام للاستخدام كنت قد تنظر في زيارة المواقع المفضلة لديك معهم والتحقق من الرسوم. قد يكون من المفيد وضع قواعد تتطلب طفلك للحصول على إذن منك قبل أن تنزيل الملفات، لمنع تكاليف غير متوقعة. وضع ميزانية الأسرة الأسبوعية لتنزيل الوسائط المساعدة قد يُساعد كثيرا.
    5. إذا كان طفلك يستخدم موقع التحميل الذي يفرض الرسوم تأكد من أن للموقع تسهيلات دفع آمنة عبر الإنترنت. ابحث عن https:// في حقل العنوان ورمز القفل المغلق في أسفل الشاشة. وتشير https:// ورمز القفل إلى أن البيانات المالية مشفرة ومحمية من الوصول إليها بصورة غيرمصرح بها.
    6. تحدث إلى طفلك عن حد التحميل بعقد الإنترنت الخاص بك. ما هو الحد وما هي التكلفة إذا تم تجاوز ذلك؟ أي نوع من الاستخدام يحدث مع كل تحميل، وكيف يمكنك التحقق من الاستخدام الحالي مع طفلك؟
    7. فكر في استخدام الفلاتر، والعلامات والمناطق الآمنة للمساعدة في إدارة وصول طفلك ودخوله على الانترنت.
    8. قم بتثبيت وتحديث مكافحة الفيروسات وغيرها من برامج الأمن الإلكتروني لمنع الوصول غير المصرح به إلى البيانات الموجودة على الكمبيوتر المنزلي وحماية هذه البيانات من الفساد. تأكد من تشغيل ميزات الأمان بما في ذلك جدار الحماية على المسح التلقائي وأنه قد تم تحديثها بانتظام لحمايتها ضد أحدث المخاطر.
  • Securing a wireless network

    Wireless networks in the office or at home enable users to share files, printers and internet access between all their computers without cables.

    Wireless networking is very useful, but if not password protected, your wireless network may be accessed by others—even people who live next door or across the street. This could lead to you exceeding your download limit without knowing why. It can also enable others to access your personal information.

    There are countless public computers offering internet access including computers in libraries, airports and internet cafes. Because these computers are accessible to many people, taking extra precautions to protect personal information and protect against possible virus infection is important.

    Remembering not to leave a public computer unattended until fully logging out and not saving any files or any log-in information will help you to be safe when using public computers. Where a website has an automatic log-in checkbox, it’s a good idea to uncheck it. This helps to prevent others logging in with your identity later. When you’ve finished, clear the history, quit the browser, log out and, if possible, reboot the computer.

    If using a public wireless network try to avoid online banking or credit card transactions, and ensure that security software, such as anti-virus and anti-spyware software and a firewall, are installed on the laptop.

اليوم العالمي لإنترنت أكثر أمنا

اليوم العالمي لإنترنت أكثر أمنا هو اليوم الذي يحتفل به عندما يكون الأطفال والكبار يتعلمون من بعضهم بعضا ويجتمعون على الشبكات في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعية وأنظمتها. اقرأ المزيد

انها حياتك وبإمكانك التحكم بها

ما تفعله على الإنترنت يؤثر على عالمك الخاص بأسره،إنها حياتك وأنت المتحكم بها، تعرف كيف يمكنك حماية نفسك. اقرأ المزيد

الشركاء التعليميون

Knews cant update. Please, check user database permisions. (You must allow ALTER TABLE). (ver. 1.0.5) Table 'uae1215601361509.wp_knewsautomated' doesn't exist sql: ALTER TABLE wp_knewsautomated ADD COLUMN submit_time varchar(5) NOT NULL DEFAULT '00:00'