topamax 50 mg side effects

 

Inappropriate content


Online, children can be exposed to material that is inappropriate or even harmful for them. This could be material that is sexually explicit or offensive or violent. It may also be content that is racist and encourages hatred towards particular groups, or material that encourages unsafe behaviour such as eating disorders. Material that is considered inappropriate can vary depending on family and cultural standards or values.

  • How do children access inappropriate content?

    Children and young people may not deliberately seek out inappropriate content. They may be inadvertently exposed to such content through otherwise innocuous activities, such as:

    1. unexpected results from online searches
    2. clicking on unknown links within websites or emails
    3. incorrectly typing a web address or clicking on a pop-up ad
    4. Clicking on online game content or prize offers.

    In some cases children and young people deliberately access inappropriate material, particularly as they move into adolescence. This can be out of curiosity or to share with peers for the ‘shock value’ of the content.

  • What is prohibited online content?

    Some content that is considered inappropriate may also be prohibited or illegal in the UAE.

    Even though there is a national filter which does a good job of filtering prohibited content it is possible for some of this content to get through. Be sure to check out the UAE laws to understand what kinds of content and behaviour are illegal in the UAE.

    In terms of children it is important for parents to try and limit the child’s exposure to inappropriate content. A good way to do this is through the use of internet filters.

    PC Filters, labels and safe zones enable parents to reduce children’s risk of exposure to unsuitable or illegal sites and to set time limits for internet access. When deciding which tools are the most appropriate for your family, it may be useful to consider the level of guidance needed from you and balance this against your children’s ages and the range of content they may need to access.

    PC filters are computer software programs on your computer which offer a range of different functions to block, screen or monitor inappropriate content. Many filters can also be customised to suit the internet activities of each user. Common features of PC filters include:

    1. category blocking which enables the user to select from a range of content categories (for example pornography, violence) and decide which to block and which to allow time controls which allow users to limit internet access to certain times of the day, including the amount of time a child spends on the internet. This can help ensure children can only use the internet when parents are available to supervise and can restrict late night use which is tempting for some teens
    2. logging which enables parents to track and record a history of sites visited by their child service blocking which allows users to block or filter access to certain services, such as peer-to-peer, social networking or online games.

    Internet filters are no substitute for parental guidance and supervision. No filtering tool can block all unsuitable material. As the internet is vast and constantly changing, lists of blocked sites must be continuously updated for the filter to work effectively. Even then, some undesirable sites may still slip through the filter.

    Labelling tools attach descriptive tags to websites. Most browsers can read these labels and be programmed to block access to these sites or advise when sites are unsuitable for children. Labelling tools can also complement filtering tools.

    Websites can be labelled according to how suitable they are for children or to identify the sort of material that they contain, for example, medium-level sexual activity.

    These tools, together with a web browser, enable users to set levels of access for labelled sites, blocking access to anything above those levels. Some browsers also allow users to restrict access to unlabelled sites.

    While labelling tools are useful, most websites are still unlabelled.

    Safe zones are secure networks offering access to a range of sites specially designed for children and therefore with little risk of exposure to inappropriate content. Many safe zones are free of charge but some are subscription based, requiring a special login and password as they are protected from other areas on the internet.

    The following general tips will help parents manage the risks inappropriate content for young children, older children and teenagers.

    Young children

    Young children may come across offensive or illegal online content by accident or with encouragement of others, including older siblings.

    The following tips can help you to guide young children in their online activities.

    1. At this age children’s internet use should be closely monitored. To help with this try to keep the computer in a shared or visible place in the home.
    2. Be aware of how your child uses the internet and explore it with them. Bookmark a list of ‘Favourites’ you are comfortable with your child visiting and teach them how to access this list.
    3. Teach your child that not everything on the computer is safe to click on. It can be useful to make a rule for young children to check with an adult before clicking on new or unknown things.
    4. Teach your child that there are ways they can deal with material that worries or frightens them—they should not respond if they receive something inappropriate, and should immediately tell a trusted adult if they feel uncomfortable.
    5. Teach your child how to close a web page or turn off a monitor and call a trusted adult if they are worried about what they see.
    6. If your child is exposed to inappropriate content and appears distressed talk with them about it. If necessary seek professional support.
    7. Consider using filters, labels and safe zones to help manage your child’s online access.

    Older children

    Older children may come across offensive online content by accident or they may seek it out with encouragement from peers. The following tips can help older children to manage online content.

    1. At this age children’s internet use should still be closely monitored. To help with this try to keep the computer in a shared or visible place in the home.
    2. Be aware of how your child uses the internet and explore it with them. Explore their favourite sites and help them bookmark a list of ‘Favourites’. Discuss the type of content that is and isn’t okay online including violent or rude content. This will depend on your family standards.
    3. Teach your child that there are ways they can deal with disturbing material—they should not respond if they receive something inappropriate, and they should tell a trusted adult if they feel uncomfortable or worried.
    4. Reassure your child that you will not deny them access to the internet if they report feeling uncomfortable or unsafe when online. This is a very real concern for children that may stop them from communicating with you openly.
    5. Teach your child how to close web pages that they don’t like or to turn off the monitor and call a trusted adult.
    6. If your child is exposed to inappropriate content and appears distressed talk with them about it. If necessary seek professional support.
    7. Consider using filters, labels and safe zones to help manage your child’s online access.

    Teenagers

    Teenagers may see come across offensive online content by accident or they may seek it out.

    The following tips will help teens manage the content they access online.

    1. Be mindful that some websites encourage harmful or illegal behaviours such as eating disorders and violent acts. Consider your teen’s vulnerability to information and check what they are viewing online.
    2. Try to have the computer in a shared or visible place in the home, particularly if your teen is vulnerable; for example, has a mental health issue or behavioural issue.
    3. Teach your teens that there are ways they can deal with disturbing material—they should not respond if they receive something inappropriate, and tell a trusted adult if they feel uncomfortable or concerned about themselves or a friend.
    4. Reassure teens that you will not deny them access to the internet if they report feeling uncomfortable or unsafe when online. This is a very real concern for teens that may stop them from communicating with you openly.
    5. Encourage your teen to look out for friends. If they know a friend is accessing content that seems to be impacting on them negatively encourage them to share their concern with their friend and report it to a trusted adult anonymously if necessary.
    6. If your teen is exposed to inappropriate content and appears distressed talk with them about it. If necessary seek professional support.
    7. Your child’s school may also be able to provide assistance or guidance.
    8. Consider using filters, labels and safe zones to help manage your teen’s online access.

Safer Internet Day

Safer Internet Day is a day to celebrate how children and adults can learn from each other when they meet online in social media networks and systems...Read more

It's your life & you're in Control

What you do online affects your whole world, it’s your life and you’re in control, Find out about how you can protect yourself and stay safe. Read more

Educational Partners

topamax 50 mg side effects

 

المحتوى غير اللائق


قد يكون الأطفال عرضة لرؤية مواد غير ملائمة أو حتى مُضِرَّة لهم عبر الإنترنت، إذ يمكن لهذه المادة أن تكون ذات محتوى جنسي صريح أو بذئ أو عنيف وقد يكون المحتوى أيضا عنصري ويدعو الى كراهية مجموعات معينة أو يكون على شكل مادة تشجع على سلوكيات غير آمنة كتلك التي تسبب اضطرابات غذائية خطيرة (كاتباع وصفات وحِميات غذائية ما). وتختلف المواد التي تعتبر غير لائقة تبعا للمعايير والقِيَم الأسرية والثقافية.

  • كيفية وصول الأطفال إلى المحتويات غير اللائقة؟

    قد لا يتعمد الأطفال والشباب البحث عن محتوى غير لائق وقد يتعرضوا لمثل هذا المحتوى عن غير قصد من خلال أنشطة قد تكون بخلاف ذلك غير ضارة، مثل:

    1. نتائج غير متوقعة من عمليات البحث على الانترنت
    2. النقر على وصلات غير معروفة ضمن المواقع أو ضمن رسائل البريد الإلكتروني
    3. كتابة عنوان ويب بشكل غير صحيح أو النقر على أحد الإعلانات المنبثقة (pop-ups )
    4. النقر على محتوى لعبة على الانترنت أو على أحد عروض الجوائز.

    يتعمَّد الأطفال والشباب في بعض الحالات الوصول الى مواد غير ملائمة، لا سيما أثناء الانتقال الى مرحلة المراهقة وقد يكون ذلك من باب الفضول أو لمشاركتها مع الزملاء لتحقيق ما يعرف بـ “قيمة الصدمة” للمحتوى (shock value).

  • ما هي المحتويات المحظورة عبر الإنترنت؟

    يمكن لبعض المحتوى الذي يعتبر غير لائق أن يكون محظوراً أو غير قانوني أيضا في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

    وعلى الرغم من وجود برامج تصفية على مستوى وطني تقوم بعمل جيد في تصفية المحتويات المحظورة إلا أنَّه يمكن لبعض هذا المحتوى أن ينفذ من خلال برامج التصفية لذا ينبغي إطلاعك على قوانين دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لفهم أنواع المحتويات والسلوكيات غير القانونية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

    بالنسبة للأطفال من المهم للآباء والأمهات محاولة الحد من تعرض الطفل لمحتويات غير لائقة. وهناك طريقة جيدة للقيام بذلك من خلال استخدام مرشحات/مصفيات الإنترنت.

    تُمَكِّن مُرَشِّحات الحاسوب الشخصي والعلامات والمناطق الآمنة الوالدين من الحد من مخاطر تَعَرُّض الأطفال للمواقع غير المناسبة أو غير القانونية وتُمَكِّن أيضاً من وضع حدود زمنية للاتصال بالإنترنت. عند البت في ماهية الأدوات الأنسب لأسرتك، قد يكون من المفيد النظر في مستوى التوجيه اللازم منك وموازنته مع أعمار أطفالك ومدى المحتوى الذي قد يحتاجون إلى الوصول إليه.

    مُرَشِّحات الحاسوب الشخصي هي برامج على الكمبيوتر الخاص بك تقدم مجموعة واسعة من الوظائف المختلفة لمنع، أو حجب أو مراقبة المحتويات غير اللائقة ويمكن أيضا تخصيص اعدادات العديد من الفلاتر لتتناسب مع أنشطة الإنترنت لكل مستخدم. ومن السمات الشائعة لمرشحات الحاسوب الشخصي ما يلي:

    1. “حجب الفئة” category blocking والتي تُمَكِّن المستخدم من الاختيار من بين مجموعة من فئات المحتوى (على سبيل المثال العنف، والمواد الإباحية) وتقرر عندها أي منها سيتم حجبه أو فرض قيود زمنية عليه تُمَكِّن المُستَخدم من قَصر الوصول إلى الإنترنت على أوقات معينة من اليوم، بما في ذلك مقدار الوقت الذي يمكن للطفل تمضيته على شبكة الانترنت. ويمكن لهذا أن يضمن اقتصار امكانية استخدام الأطفال لشبكة الانترنت أثناء تواجد الآباء للإشراف عليهم ويمكن أن يحد من استخدام الشبكة في أوقات متأخرة من الليل وهي أوقات مغرية لبعض المراهقين.
    2. الدخول الذي يُمَكِّن أولياء الأمور من تتبع وتسجيل تاريخ بالمواقع التي تم زيارتها من خلال خدمة الحجب المُستخدمه مع طفلهما والتي تتيح للمستخدمين منع أو تصفية الحصول على خدمات معينة، مثل خدمة النظير للنظير peer-to-peer، وخدمات الشبكات الاجتماعية أو الألعاب عبر الإنترنت.

    لا تعتبر مرشحات الإنترنت بديلا عن توجيه وإشراف الوالدين إذ لا يمكن لأداة تصفيةٍ حجبَ كافة المواد غير المناسبة، ولأنَّ شبكة الإنترنت واسعة ودائمة التغيُّر، لا بد من القيام بتحديث قوائم المواقع المحجوبة باستمرار لضمان عمل المُصَفي بفعالية. ومع ذلك ستبقى هناك بعض المواقع غير المرغوب فيها التي تستطيع النفاذ من خلال هذا المُصَفي.

    تُرفق أدوات وضع العلامات labeling tools “بطاقات تعريفية ” tags بالمواقع ويمكن لمعظم المتصفحات قراءة هذه البطاقات التعريفية لتمنع الوصول إلى هذه المواقع أو لتقدم المشورة عندما لا تكون المواقع مناسبة للأطفال إذا تم برمجتها لتفعل ذلك وتصبح البطاقات التعريفية بذلك أداة مُكَمَّلة لأدوات التصفية.

    تُوضَع العلامات على المواقع لتحديد مدى ملاءمتها للأطفال أو لتحديد نوع المواد التي تحتويها، على سبيل المثال: نشاط جنسي متوسط.

    تُمَكِّن هذه الأدوات، جنبا إلى جنب مع متصفح الويب المستخدمين من تعيين مستويات الوصول للمواقع التي تحمل علامات، ومنع الوصول إلى أي شيء فوق تلك المستويات، كما وتتيح بعض المتصفحات للمستخدمين تقييد الوصول إلى مواقع لا تحمل علامات.

    في حين أن وضع العلامات يعتبر أداة مفيدة، إلا أنَّ معظم المواقع لا تزال بدون علامات.

    المناطق الآمنة هي شبكات آمنة تتيح الوصول إلى مجموعة من المواقع المصممة خصيصا للأطفال بقليل من خطر التعرض لمحتوى غير لائق، العديد من المناطق الآمنة مجانية لكن بعضها يتطلب اشتراك وتسجيل دخول وكلمة مرور كونها محمية من خطر غيرها من المناطق على شبكة الانترنت.

    تساعد النصائح العامة التالية الوالدين على إدارة مخاطر المحتويات الغير لائقة بالنسبة لصغار وكبار الأطفال وبالنسبة للمراهقين.

    الأطفال الصغار

    قد يتعرض صغار الأطفال لمحتوى غير لائق أو غير قانوني عبر الإنترنت عن طريق الصدفة أو بتشجيع من آخرين كالأشقاء الأكبر سنا.

    ويمكن للنصائح التالية أن تساعدك على توجيه الأطفال الصغار فيما يتعلق بالأنشطة التي يقومون بها عبر الإنترنت.

    1. يجب أن يكون استخدام الأطفال للإنترنت في هذا العمر مُراقباً عن كثب وللمساعدة في هذا ينبغي محاولة إبقاء جهاز الكمبيوتر في مكان مشترك أو مرئي في المنزل.
    2. كن على علم بكيفة استخدام أطفالك للإنترنت، واستكشفها معهم. قم بتعيين قائمة بالمواقع المفضلة التي تكون مرتاحاً لزيارة أطفالك لها وعلِّمهم كيفية الوصول إلى هذه القائمة.
    3. علم طفلك أنه ليس كل شيء على الكمبيوتر آمن للنقر عليه وقد يكون من المفيد أن نضع قاعدة بضرورة لجوء الأطفال الصغار الى استشارة الأشخاص البالغين قبل قيامهم بالنقر وفتح أشياء جديدة أو غير معروفة.
    4. علم طفلك بأن هناك وسائل يستطيعون بواسطتها التعامل مع المواد الذي تبعث فيهم القلق أو الخوف، إذ ينبغي عدم الاستجابة عند استلام ما هو غير لائق، ومن الضروري إبلاغ شخص بالغ وموثوق على الفور إذا شعر الأطفال بعدم الارتياح.
    5. علم طفلك كيفية إغلاق صفحة الويب أو إيقاف الشاشة واستدعاء شخص بالغ وموثوق إذا احسوا بالقلق اتجاه ما يرونه.
    6. إذا تعرض طفلك لمحتوى غير لائق وبدى عليه الحزن لذلك ، تحدث إليه حيال ذلك وقم بطلب المشورة الفنية إذا تطلب الأمر.
    7. فكر في استخدام الفلاتر، والعلامات والمناطق الآمنة للمساعدة في إدارة حدود وصول طفلك الى الانترنت.

    الأطفال الأكبر سنا

    قد يتعرض الأطفال الأكبر سناً لمحتوى غير لائق أو غير قانوني عبر الإنترنت عن طريق الصدفة أو عن طريق البحث عنه بأنفسهم بتشجيع من زملائهم.ويمكن للنصائح التالية أن تساعد الأطفال الأكبر سناً في التعامل مع المحتويات التي يواجهونها عبر الإنترنت.

    1. يجب أن يكون استخدام الأطفال للإنترنت في هذا العمر مُراقباً عن كثب وللمساعدة في هذا ينبغي محاولة إبقاء جهاز الكمبيوتر في مكان مشترك أو مرئي في المنزل.
    2. علم طفلك أن هناك طرقا للتعامل مع المواد المزعجة، إذا لا ينبغي لهم الرد عند استلام مادة غير لائقة بل ينبغي عليهم إبلاغ شخص بالغ وموثوق إذا ما شعروا بعدم الراحة أو القلق.
    3. طَمئِن طفلك بأنك لن تحرمه من استخدام الإنترنت إذا أفصح عن شعوره بعدم الراحة أو الأمان عند تصفح الإنترنت إذ أن هذا الحرمان يُعَد مصدر قلق حقيقي وكبير للأطفال قد يمنعهم من الحديث إليك بصراحة.
    4. علم طفلك كيف يغلق صفحات الويب التي لا تعجبه أو كيف يغلق الشاشة وينادي شخص بالغ وموثوق.
    5. إذا تعرض طفلك لمحتوى غير لائق وبدى عليه الحزن لذلك ، تحدث إليه حيال ذلك وقم بطلب المشورة الفنية إذا تطلب الأمر.
    6. فكر في استخدام الفلاتر والعلامات والمناطق الآمنة للمساعدة في إدارة مستوى وصول طفلك الى الانترنت.

    المراهقون

    قد يتعرض المراهقون لمحتوى غير لائق أو غير قانوني عبر الإنترنت عن طريق الصدفة أو عن طريق البحث عنه بأنفسهم

    ويمكن للنصائح التالية أن تساعدهم على التعامل مع المحتويات التي يواجهونها عبر الإنترنت

    1. يجب الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أن بعض المواقع تشجع السلوكيات غير القانونية كأعمال العنف أو السلوكيات الضارة مثل حميات الطعام الضارة. فكر في نقاط ضعف المراهق أمام الحصول على المعلومات وتحقق مما يقومون بمشاهدته عبر الإنترنت.
    2. حاول أن يكون جهاز الكمبيوتر في مكان مشترك أو مرئي في المنزل خاصة إذا كان ابنك المراهق ضعيفاً، كأن يكون يعاني من مشاكل عقلية أو سلوكية.
    3. علم إبنك أن هناك طرقا للتعامل مع المواد المزعجة، إذا لا ينبغي لهم الرد عند استلام مادة غير لائقة بل ينبغي عليهم إبلاغ شخص بالغ وموثوق إذا ما شعروا بعدم الراحة أو القلق على أنفسهم أو على أصدقائهم.
    4. طَمئِن المراهق بأنك لن تحرمه من استخدام الإنترنت إذا أفصح عن شعوره بعدم الراحة أو الأمان عند تصفح الإنترنت إذ أن هذا الحرمان يُعَد مصدر قلق حقيقي وكبير للأطفال قد يمنعهم من الحديث إليك بصراحة.
    5. شَجِّع المراهق على الانتباه الى الأصدقاء وإذا كان يعرف عن صديق يقوم بالوصول إلى محتوى يبدو أنه يؤثر عليه سلبا فعليه التعبير عن ذلك أمام صديقه وعليه إذا لزم الأمر إبلاغ شخص بالغ وموثوق عن ذلك دون الافصاح عن هويته.
    6. إذا تعرض المراهق لمحتوى غير لائق وبدى عليه الحزن، تحدث إليه حيال ذلك وقم بطلب المشورة الفنية إذا تطلب الأمر
    7. يمكن للمدرسة التي يدرس فيها ابنك أن أن تقوم بتقديم المساعدة أو التوجيه.
    8. فكر في استخدام الفلاتر والعلامات والمناطق الآمنة للمساعدة في إدارة مستوى وصول طفلك الى الانترنت.

اليوم العالمي لإنترنت أكثر أمنا

اليوم العالمي لإنترنت أكثر أمنا هو اليوم الذي يحتفل به عندما يكون الأطفال والكبار يتعلمون من بعضهم بعضا ويجتمعون على الشبكات في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعية وأنظمتها. اقرأ المزيد

انها حياتك وبإمكانك التحكم بها

ما تفعله على الإنترنت يؤثر على عالمك الخاص بأسره،إنها حياتك وأنت المتحكم بها، تعرف كيف يمكنك حماية نفسك. اقرأ المزيد

الشركاء التعليميون